[Tip] Save iPhone 7 Plus storage by disabling Portrait Mode duplicates

iPhon 7 plus owners can enjoy the exclusive Portrait mode which focuses the subject by blurring the background in photos, simulating a bokeh effect that typically appears in professional photography. Today, we have a simple tip for you that lets you save iPhone 7 Plus storage while still enjoying Portrait mode.

Portrait mode stitches the layers of depth using a combination of software and hardware but what you might not know is it saved two photos. One is the regular pic and another is the version with the bokeh effect applied.

How to save iPhone 7 Plus storage by disabling Portrait Mode duplicates

You can choose to keep just the bokeh effect photos which is a really simple way to save iPhone 7 Plus storage without doing any manual cleaning tasks. This is especially useful if you take a lot of photos in Portrait Mode since having twice the number of pics saved on your device can take up storage really fast.

save iPhone 7 Plus storage

To disable Portrait Mode duplicates you will need to open the Settings app, then tap on “Photos & Camera”.

save iPhone 7 Plus storage

On the next screen, scroll down a bit until you reach the Portrait Mode section. Now all you have left to do is disable the “Keep Normal Photo” option.

From then on, every time you snap a photo in Portrait Mode, iOS will save just the version with the bokeh effect. In most situations, Portrait mode produces excellent results. However, it can happen that Portrait Mode doesn’t blur the entire background (or catches a part of the subject(s) in the process) so ultimately it’s up to you if you want to disable storing duplicate images or clean them up manually.

Share this post if you liked it and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+ to stay up to date with the latest apps, games, guides and everything Android, iOS, and Windows Phone.